Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Books, Travels and Row by Row Experience

on August 9, 2016

book-lovers-day-8-9-2-550x320

Today is National Book Lovers Day, and that makes today special to me! Some of my friends, my sister, my daughter and I have formed our own 2016 Reading Challenge group on Facebook. We are using the popular SugarPop Challenge list. Some of us did the 2015 Challenge with more or less completion (my sister was the only one to finish last year). I think what we liked most was being prompted to try out new types of books.  We made some great finds in new authors, and a few sad finds in books to avoid (most notably the Pulitzers that we read). So with 4-5 months left to go, my sister has completed all the categories. Some just aren’t into it…at. all. I’m about halfway done; I keep getting side-tracked by additional books of new authors I find – and that’s nice.

Travels and the Row by Row Experience

Last summer while visiting my sister in Oregon and becoming acquainted with more of the new-to-me San Antonio area, I visited many quilt shops to collect their Row by Row Experience quilt patterns*. The Row by Row Experience is essentially a marketing campaign for LQSs (Local Quilt Shops), and quilters love it! This year all 50 states, all the Canadian provinces (I think), and even some European countries are participating in this amazing project.  Unlike last year when I collected 21+ row patterns, this year I am way too busy with IsabellasWhimsy on Etsy, so my collection will be MUCH smaller and only rows that I really, really like.

So this year I have gone to two Texas towns, New Braunfels and Bandera, and collected 2 row patterns. I still have a list with 4 remaining possible shops. Here are the patterns I have. I’m likin’ the Texan style here! Yaahoo!

 

Please know you are invited to visit Isabella’s Whimsy on Facebook and on Pinterest.

 

I’ll leave you with a sneak peek of the current baby quilt on my worktable,

DSCF2568

IsabellasWhimsy

Until next time,

Blessings to All,

~Isabella

*If you want to see the 2015 rows I collected look here, here, and here.

Save

4 responses to “Books, Travels and Row by Row Experience

  1. I love the row blocks! I’ve picked a few up with the idea of setting them aside for later. My thought was I might do a few each year and actually make a quilt over multiple years. The baby quilt is really cute!

    • Janie Kemp says:

      Oh, I have the same idea for the row patterns. I’m thinking of a Texas quilt, and a beachy quilt with last years’ blocks. I’ve considered using a some of the rows in a quilt of places I’ve lived/visited. I’m all good…as long as it stays in the thinking stages! LOL!
      Thanks for leaving your comment ♥
      All the best to you.

  2. Sharon Andersen says:

    Sounds like you’ve been enjoying your explorations, both with the travel and the books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

