Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

PQ Season 7, Challenge 3 – Thread

on February 6, 2016

The challenge for Project Quilting hosted by Persimon Dreams is to make a quilt of any size, in any manner, so long as it is a finished project completed within the week and contains one or more of these:

  1. Include patchwork.
  2. Include appliqué.
  3. Have 3 layers stitched together by hand or machine.

The 3rd Challenge topic for this week is Thread.

As soon as I read ‘Thread’ I knew I wanted to make some Spool Blocks.  The spool block is an old-fashioned blocked that is pieced.  I also knew I wanted to make a mug rug because, well, because it’s small; I was confident I could complete a mug rug in a week.

Here is the thread mug rug.  Titled: Spools. Size 8.5″ X 6.5″. Made by me in my home in San Antonio, TX.

IsabellasWhimsy Thread 1

First I made the two larger spool blocks in the traditional way, but I used my own dimensions to cut the pieces.  I quilted the mug rug and added the binding, but there was too much white space left, so I made three little spools and appliqued them.  I like their wonkiness. I think they add some motion to the mat.

 

IsabellasWhimsy Thread 2.JPG

If you are interested in how to make the spools, just let me know and I’ll share what I used and what I have access to.

You can vote on the Thread entries starting tomorrow afternoon/evening by going here: Viewer’s Choice Voting from February 7th – 12th  You will need to scroll down a ways to find it, but it’s worth the effort!

Is there a quilt block that you like a lot? Don’t be shy…just tell us which one!

Blessings,

~Isabella

 

Leave a Reply

