Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Still Rowing with the 2015 Row by Row Experience

on August 13, 2015

I rowed in Texas.  I rowed in Oregon – 3 times! And now I’m rowing in Texas again.

The first little outings in Texas were to Sew Special in San Antonio,

SanAntonio TX Sew Special Quilts_

the Scrappy Quilter in Schertz,

Schertz, TX Scrappy Quilterand the Quilt Haus in New Braunfels.

New Braunfels TX Quilt Hauspg

Then when my Ladies Bible Class had a retreat/hang-out the weekend of August 7-9 in Fredericksburg I took the long way so I could visit some quilt shops that are a little out-of-the-way.

First stop was Sew It Fabulous in Boerne.

Boerne, TX Sew It Fabulous

Next, Gone Quiltin’ in Bandera where I had a lovely visit and picked up the Bluebonnet Row pattern. The shop lady was very nice in Bandera.  She sent me off with several free patterns from the store and was just so sweet.

Bandera, TX Gone Quiltin' in Bandera

Then came Medina’s Little Cottage Quilt Shop. This stop turned into a treat.  The shop owner took some time to show me the vintage quilts adorning the classroom wall and to tell me about the quilter who made them.  She also showed me her twister quilt that she will be using to teach a class soon.  It is a very nice shop, light, bright and welcoming.  She has an amazing selection of fabrics and supplies, well worth the visit.

Medina,

Stages of Drought

I’ve just had a little bit to look at her blog, but it looks very nice, and you might enjoy it. Little Cottage Quilt Shop blog.

Even though I hadn’t planned to stop in Kerrville, I decided I was too close to miss it.  So with a couple of sets of helpful directions I found the easy-to-find shop and enjoyed looking all around and picking up the watermelon row pattern.

Kerrville, TXHere is a pic from our retreat

DSCF1336;0)

I arrived too late to stop in One Quilt Place in Fredericksburg and was too busy on Saturday, so I missed that one, but 4 shops in one day is pretty good!

Now I just need to finish up San Antonio…

Blessings,

~Isabella

p.s. All the row pics are borrowed from the Texas Row by Row Experience 2015 page on Facebook.

2 responses to “Still Rowing with the 2015 Row by Row Experience

  1. […] 3 came into being when I wanted some more length.  I modified a design that I had purchased in a Row by Row Experience shop by making huge flying geese from half-square triangles (HSTs). I’m thinking he must have seen […]

  2. […] you want to see the 2015 rows I collected look here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

