Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Our Bricks to Help Make Emanuel AME Church Quilt

on July 12, 2015

Late in June I saw a blog post on Wonkyworld by Bill Volckening called, “Help Charleston Modern Quilt Guild Make Emanuel AME Church Quilt!” The call has gone out for quilters to send a 3 1/2″ X 6 1/2″ fabric brick to the Charleston Modern Quilt Guild who would then assemble all the bricks into a quilt of love and support for the Emanuel AME Church who suffered a tragic shooting in June. Each quilter is asked to write his/her name, city and state on their bricks and send them to Charleston Modern Quilt Guild, PO Box 723, Sullivans Island, SC 29482.

For the beautifully written blog post go here: Wonkyworld June 27, 2015. You will see a quilt that inspires the SC quilt, and you will be able to see how Bill signed his brick for this quilt, as well as read all the instructions for the bricks.

My sister and I made bricks today to send:

Bricks for Emanuel AME Church

A little story behind our bricks…we have each moved and moved and moved.  We don’t really have a hometown.  She has lived in her current town for almost 5 years, and I have lived in mine almost 8 months.  We talked about what to do, because we wanted our bricks to carry our hearts to SC, not just facts. She suggested I use Texas A&M University as my hometown because I worked there my last 8 working years before retirement, and I loved the time I was there. After all I got a degree, so I am an Aggie! Sis thought it over and decided to use Yoncalla, Oregon as her hometown because that is where our family is from.  All of our growing up years when Mom said, “We’re going home,” we knew we were going to Yoncalla. It seems perfect to me because then the brick encompasses our Mom and Grandma who taught us to sew and many other life lessons.  So, if you are like us and not sure where Home is, listen to your heart and you will know what to do.

Blessings,

~Isabella

Leave a Reply

