Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Finishing the Memory Quilt Tops

on June 20, 2015

I love it when a plan comes together!

The two memory quilts are finishing up just great.  It has been a fun, creative, and learning experience.  I loved brainstorming with my sister and then with my nephew for block ideas to include in the quilts.  I used some patterns that I had been wanting to try, so that was fun too.  I tried out a few new techniques, and they turned out.

As for what I learned…

– It might be better to decide on the sizes of the quilt blocks before starting.  Making all kinds of whimsical choices along the way didn’t interfere with creativity, but it’s taking a chunk of math-thinking now to get everything to fit together, and you may not know it, but I’m not a natural at math, so I am doing a fair amount of ripping-out-and-doing-over, but just in small doses.

-it’s good to step out of the comfort zone and try something new.

-I appreciate sashing…it really makes those blocks fit together!

Here is a pic of the general layout…still requires some imagination.

DSCF1164

Here is a pic of the two rows that are completed on one of the quilts.

DSCF1165~Blessings,

Isabella’s Whimsy

2 responses to “Finishing the Memory Quilt Tops

  1. Lily Lau says:

    Love them, what a wonderful idea you had! 🙂

Leave a Reply

