Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Memory Quilt – Baby’s First Year

on May 29, 2015

Baby Clothes Memory Quilt

Favorite Clothes from Baby’s First Year

This was a new experience for me!  My younger daughter’s best friend since 2nd grade asked me if I would make a quilt using her and hubby’s favorite clothes from their son’s first year.  I expected baby-type prints…it’s been a long time since we had a baby around.  All those little knit onesies and t-shirts, so precious (well, not that scary one with the red eyes!).  I was amazed to see how different baby clothes are now.  I like all the colors, instead of all the pastels we used to have.  I had no idea so many slogans and pictures were out there on the clothes.  You can easily find daddy’s choices… not surprisingly, I’m drawn to the tiny baby patterns, but some of the others sure made me laugh!

This is the biggest quilt I ever made and the first t-shirt type quilt. It is twin size (58″X81″).

Ian's quilt backI did the piecing and layout, but sent the quilt out for long-arm quilting. I am very happy with how the back turned out, thanks to the long-arm quilter for aligning the top and back before she started quilting. Here are a couple of the early sections.

Oct 12-13  a Oct 12-13  bThe borders and main part of the backing match the fabric I used on this little guy’s baby quilt, per the parents’ request.

Ian's Baby QuiltThis quilt was quite a learning experience and I’m so glad the family is happy with it. With the nice batting used by The Scrappy Quilter in Schertz, TX for the long-arm quilting, it’s not too heavy and can hold up with lots of use.

God bless our little ones.

~Isabella

Leave a Reply

