Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Fishy Fun Baby Quilt

on May 28, 2015

I enjoyed designing and making this baby quilt.  I especially like ocean themed baby quilts.  So, for this one I used a charm pack of Bartholo-mew’s Reef and fabrics from my stash, some that I had used in other ocean baby quilts. For the focal applique I used the Wonderfully Fishie #11 pattern from Fat Cat Patterns. You should see her cute, whimsical set of Fish Patterns, in fact you should see all her fun patterns.  She offers many free applique patterns and one or more BOMs (Block Of the Month), plus several appealing for-sale patterns. There are ten smaller fish on the quilt also, the one in the upper right corner is another Fat Cat Pattern, but made a little smaller and without the appliqued details. The other little fishies were cut out freehand from this-and-that. The charm squares surrounding the focal fish were from a pack of Bartholo-meow’s Reef.  The border is made up of half charm squares from the same pack and some pieces from my stash.  If you see a good deal on Bartholo-meow’s Reef, let me know – I really like it! Fishy FunFor the backing I used a deep, mottled blue-green with an accent strip of orange, and bound the quilt in the same orange using a double fold binding.

Fishy Fun back

I went back and forth in my mind trying to decide about the quilting and finally settled on random wavy lines for water movement.  I think it looks all right that I stitched right over the fish, as though they are moving through the current.

quilting details

quilting detail 1quilting detail 2

Fishy Fun label

This is another quilt finished from my WIPs and UFOs.  It now resides in California, not too far from the ocean.

Blessings,

~Isabella

Leave a Reply

