Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Spring Petals QAL – Daisies

on May 7, 2015

Don’t be confused, it’s OK.  If you already saw a post for the Spring Petals QAL you may be wondering…

but, it’s OK, I made two!

Julie @ The Crafty Quilter said we could make more than one table topper to enter in the QAL.  She said two toppers would give us two entries for the prizes!  How cool is that! So, instead of just going a tiny bit off track from finishing all my WIPs, I was a little side-tracked, but not by much.

Spring Petals Quilt Along @ The Crafty Quilter

The plan was/is the same:

  • April 4    Pattern available as a free pdf; pick out your fabrics (you can visit Julie’s site for the pattern and such)
  • April 10  Cutting and piecing
  • April 17  Applique
  • April 24  Basting and quilting
  • May 1    Binding
  • May 8    Final thoughts and Linky Party
  • June 7   Giveaway winners announced

Because I couldn’t make up my mind on the fabrics to use for the Roses table topper, I went ahead and made a second project, Daisies, while I was figuring out the original (Roses) fabrics to use. Now I have 2 completed projects to submit to the Linky Party on Friday and have two chances at winning a prize! I also have two sisters… (smile!)

Daisies was much easier for me to pull together with this as the inspirational fabric

Daisies Inspiration Fabric

Here is the Daisies fabric collection.

Daisies Fabrics Selection

and the completed Daisies table topper (24 in).

Daisies

As I said in the Roses post, I had been wanting to make something with the petals pattern, it’s so popular now in the quilting world.  I think that the toppers look distinct not only by using different colors, but also by varying some of the petals as leaves in the Roses design.

I’m pretty sure that Julie will leave the pattern and instructions available on her blog, so you can visit and make one (or two) toppers yourself.

~Enjoy, Isabella

p.s. Be sure to check out the Linky Party sometime on Friday (or after) to see the variety of Spring Petals. You’ll need to scroll down until you find it.

2 responses to “Spring Petals QAL – Daisies

  1. susie says:

    I also love your Daisies Table Topper! Such beautiful colors and fabrics!!

Leave a Reply

