Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Spring Petals QAL – Roses

on May 6, 2015

You may have seen my Facebook post about joining in with the Spring Petals Quilt ALong (QAL) hosted by Julie @ The Crafty QuilterI had not joined a QAL before and jumped at the chance to join reasoned that even though I committed to finishing all of my WIPs and UFOs, I ought to experience a QAL; after all it’s one of those 3-letter quilting thingies. And I am still finishing the other projects. So, as is the case all too often, I started a new project.

Spring Petals Quilt Along @ The Crafty Quilter

The plan for the QAL was/is:

  • April 4    Pattern available as a free pdf; pick out your fabrics (you can visit Julie’s site for the pattern and such)
  • April 10  Cutting and piecing
  • April 17  Applique
  • April 24  Basting and quilting
  • May 1    Binding
  • May 8    Final thoughts and Linky Party
  • June 7   Giveaway winners announced

Here is the inspirational fabric for the Roses table topper.  I have just a small amount left from a baby quilt I made about 5 years ago, and I cannot find more of this fabric anywhere.

Roses Inspiration Fabric

Here are most of the fabrics I used for background, petals, flower center, accents and binding.

Roses Selection

Here is the completed piece, Roses (24″).

Roses… a peek at the quilting and label.

Roses QuiltingRoses Label

I had been wanting to make something with petals, a trending pattern in the world of quilting, so now I can check that off the bucket I-want-to-do list.  Julie, the Crafty Quilter provided the table topper pattern and basic instructions for free plus  professional, week-by-week (that’s the “ALong” part) Tips and Techniques with various options for each step of the process.  I suggest you visit her webpage to see her pretty work.

~ Love, Isabella

6 responses to “Spring Petals QAL – Roses

  1. susie says:

    Your Spring Petals table topper is gorgeous! I love your fabrics.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Oh my goodness that is so pretty. I did mine in material called Fresh Lilac but my sister would love one like yours.

Leave a Reply

