Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Sunset over the Ocean

on April 25, 2014

Project QUILTING

It’s Off-Season for Project QUILTING now, so we only have 1 challenge per month through the end of the year. The April Challenge is related to birthdays. Kim of Persimon Dreams created a colorful calendar with 30 boxes and a border for #31. We were directed to select the two colors that correspond with our own birth month and day, to interpret the colors the best we could based on our monitors, then to create a quilted project using those two colors. Other colors were allowed, but the two birthday colors were to be clearly predominant. My birthday is August 20, so according to the chart my two colors are deep gray and bright salmon.

birthday colors

This year in Project QUILTING I have been trying to use tutorials and patterns that I’ve been saving and dreaming of making some day.  I decided to use a pillow design and a messenger bag tutorial in combination for my project.  Here is a link to the pillow design.  And here is a link to the messenger bag tutorial.  I adapted each of these resources, not only to my colors, but also in size and construction.  Basically, I made the pillow design into the flap for the messenger bag and omitted all but two pockets from the messenger bag, as well as messed around with the lining construction (I didn’t want to use any bias binding).

The other adaptation is that I created my own fabric through quilting.  I really liked the sunset for the flap, so I decided to go all out and make two more sunsets, one for the front and one for the back panels.  I’m happy with the bag.  It is roomy and colorful.  What do you think?

 

Here is the messenger bag showing the flap.

Here is the messenger bag showing the flap.

Here is the back panel of the bag.

Here is the back panel of the bag.

This side pocket is just right for a water bottle.

This side pocket is just right for a water bottle.

The other pocket is handy for sunglasses.

The other pocket is handy for sunglasses.

It is quite roomy in there!

It is quite roomy in there!

Trying to show size: there is a pile of 3 DVDs down in there.

Trying to show size: there is a pile of 3 DVDs down in there.

The bag is about 13″wide with 2 6″ sides, 14″ high, 6″ wide bottom, and a 33″ strap.

I started the bag at home in College Station, but finished it in Carrollton while tending my daughter post-carpal tunnel surgery.

~ Janie at Isabella’s Whimsy

 

5 responses to “Sunset over the Ocean

  1. Trish Frankland says:

    That turned out soooo cute!

  2. AGREE…cute and very handy…keeps everything you need without being a big bulky bag!

  3. […] If you know me at all as a quilter, you know I enjoy Project Quilting, an annual experience hosted by Persimmon Dreams. You can read more about it here, here, and here. […]

Leave a Reply

