Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Restoration

on April 18, 2014

April 18, 2014

When I graduated high school and was getting ready to go off to college, my Grandma made me a nice big quilt for my bed, and for my future.  It fits a double bed.  Grandma never had a lot of money and she was a great manager, very creative and inventive to make the dollars and cents stretch.  I think all of her quilts were basically the same, practical pattern: squares of the same size laid out in a simple array. Usually she tied them, and usually she used whatever she had on hand for the backing.

I knew my quilt was special.  She made the familiar pattern, but she purchased fabric for the backing and she quilted it in long-stitch diagonal lines, using her ever-constant crochet thread, because Grandma was above all, practical.  She made quilts for usability and durability.

Well, I’ve had this quilt since 1971 and it has seen a lot of wear.  Much of that time it has been in the cedar chest because I didn’t have a double bed and because it was showing signs of wearing out, a treasure I didn’t want to lose. Now I have a double bed again and I wanted the comfort of thinking my Grandma was near, so last winter when it got cold I dug out my quilt and started using it again. The poor ol’ thing really is worn.  Grandma bound the quilt using the method where you turn the backing up over the edges, so now they are really in a sad shape.

Here is a pic of my quilt today.

 

Grandma's Quilt, made in 1971. This is Grandma's familiar pattern, squares, on the diagonal by fabric or color.

Grandma’s Quilt, made in 1971. This is Grandma’s familiar pattern, squares, on the diagonal by fabric or color.

Do you see the long stitches she used? Grandma always used crochet thread for quilting, even tying quilts.  She said it is stronger and to not use embroidery thread because it wouldn't hold up as well. :0)

Do you see the long stitches she used? Grandma always used crochet thread for quilting, even tying quilts. She said it is stronger and to not use embroidery thread because it wouldn’t hold up as well. :0)

 

The top edge of the blanket got the most wear and tear.

The top edge of the blanket got the most wear and tear.

The lower edge also received a lot of wear.  Here you can see the binding method, turning the backing over the edge.

The lower edge also received a lot of wear. Here you can see the binding method, turning the backing over the edge.

 

I just need to decide on what to use for a new binding, then restoration will begin.  I plan to re-stitch the quilting where it is needed, using yellow crochet threat just like Grandma did and  trimming the worn out edges before binding them.   More later…

~Janie at Isabella’s Whimsy

2 responses to “Restoration

  1. Espirational says:

    I have a quilt made by my grandma about that same time. It’s also starting to show some wear and tear. Looking back I wish I had just used it more. I would pull it out for a little while then it went back in the closet. Some of the damage such as yellowing and small moth holes happened while it was in storage. Good luck with the re-binding.

    • Janie Kemp says:

      Thank you for your encouragement. I think I will settle on a light weight cotton similar to the original backing weight for the binding. I don’t want the binding to cause more problems than it helps! It’s nice to know you had a grandma-quilt too. You understand.

Leave a Reply

