Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Making a Crib Sheet

on April 2, 2014

Grandbaby needs a few crib sheets!

I feel like I know how to make a crib sheet, but it’s been a while and I don’t want to goof up on the pretty fabrics my daughter has, so I turned to Google to see what I could find.  I ended up combining info from two sources to make the sheets.

My Life in Snippets has a nice tutorial that gives the formula for adapting your sheet to whatever size you want, nice photos and instructions.

Vintage to New has a video tutorial with good instructions that match the video.  I like that the video shows enough to see how to do it, but not every single stitch.

Our little sheets are for a mattress that measures 38″ X 24″ X 2″, so using Snippets’ formula and Vintage’s seam allowances and casings I came up with a piece of fabric that is 43-1/4″ X 29-1/4″ and will cut out 3-1/4″ squares from each corner.  I’m using Vintage’s French seams on the corners and scant 1/4″ + 3/8″ casing.

Also, one lady suggested 54″ of 1/4″ elastic and the other suggested 2 yds. of 1/4″ elastic; I’m going with the 2 yds. and can cut it shorter if I want to.

Wish me well!

~Grammie

2 responses to “Making a Crib Sheet

  1. Good luck with those fitted sheets. Can’t wait to hear how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

