Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

30/30 Challenge … the Absolute Final

on March 31, 2014

Hasn’t this been a lovely month?  The 30/30 Challenge has been good!

In week 1 I didn’t really sew, but did prep for a Penny Sampler Quilt block:

Week 1, fabrics ironed for Hanging Diamonds Border Block

Week 1, fabrics ironed for Hanging Diamonds Border Block

Week 2 completed 5 Penny Sampler blocks:

Dala Horse and Sunflower blocks for Penny Sampler

Dala Horse and Sunflower blocks for Penny Sampler

Week 3 was the busiest for sewing – the Project QUILTING Triangles Challenge with a quilt and 2 Penny Sampler blocks:

PQ 5,6 Triangles 1

Week 4 found me making baby gifts for my little expected one:

Quickly made flannel receiving blanket

Quickly made flannel receiving blanket

And then this short “week”…

I called last week the Final because I didn’t think I could sew anything else, but where there’s a sewing machine…there is sewing!

I’m still out-of-town at my daughter’s for another day.  She and her husband went through all there bounty of shower gifts and found they had quite a few receiving blankets and no burb cloths.  We selected a smaller-size set and I found this quick tutorial called 10 Minute Burp Cloth Tutorial from The Ribbon Retreat Blog and set to work. I have 5 done and 5 more cut out.  The directions are for the ragged look, so I made three of those, then thought my girl would prefer the more traditional look, so I made two with hidden seams.  She does prefer the traditional ones, but still likes the ragged ones also.  So the last five I cut out a bit bigger, with a bit more seam allowance.  They kind of are coming out in various sizes, but they are just going to be burped on, so that’s OK.

5 Done, 3 ragged and 2 traditional

5 Done, 3 ragged and 2 traditional

5 To Go, traditional, but who knows what size!

5 To Go, traditional, but who knows what size!

I’m so glad I was able to sew right up to the end of the challenge.

Anyone going to offer another practical challenge soon?  Just let me know!

Thank you very much, Sarah!

Can’t wait to go see how everyone else is finishing up! Click here to see more.

 

14 responses to “30/30 Challenge … the Absolute Final

  1. Thanks for sewing with us selfish sewers! Fun timeless..great projects!

  2. sherry says:

    well done…you did well

  3. Great job, Janie! You did an awesome job of completing the challenge! And accomplished sew much!

  4. Andrée says:

    You did some great work Janie. Those burp bibs will come in really handy. Congrats!

  5. Jessica says:

    Congrats on such great finishes!

  6. Wonderful finishes this month, Janie – thank you so much for participating! And just think of all the projects to come when your new grandbaby arrives… clothes and quilts and busy books and costumes… enjoy your family’s new addition!

Leave a Reply

