Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

30/30 Challenge, March 14, End of Week 2 (aka End of 14 days…or maybe 13)

on March 14, 2014
Berry Barn Designs

I have to say, this has been a robust week for me in the 30/30 Challenge!

First, I took Sarah’s encouragement and got out my rotary cutter to prep the Hanging Diamonds block, and I completed it. I’m happy with how it turned out, never mind the bit of trimming it still needs.

Hanging Diamonds border block for Penny Sampler Quilt

Hanging Diamonds border block for Penny Sampler Quilt

I finished up the two “almost finished blocks”: Dala horse got his sketch stitched reins and Sunflower got her two appliqued and sketch stitched leaves.

Dala Horse and Sunflower blocks for Penny Sampler

Dala Horse and Sunflower blocks for Penny Sampler

I took a little time out from the Penny Sampler to finish a 10″ wall hanging for myself. I call it Citrus and have hung it in my kitchen. Last week for the Project QUILTING challenge I made a set of 3 Broken Herringbone wall hangings for my little sister and decided to try the block without the sashing between the strips. This week I sized, sandwiched, quilted, bound, tagged and hung it just for me.

"Citrus" a 10 inch wall hanging with the Broken Herringbone block, minus the sashing between strips.

“Citrus” a 10 inch wall hanging with the Broken Herringbone block, minus the sashing between strips.

Fast Finish Triangles and kitchen skewer for hanging.  Quilt tag made from scraps.

Fast Finish Triangles and kitchen skewer for hanging. Quilt tag made from scraps.

If you would like to see some Project QUILTING projects on Flickr, click here.

Then back to the Penny Sampler with 1, 2, 3, well 4, new blocks all made and set aside with their siblings.
I made the 2 Heart blocks.

Heart Blocks for the Penny Sampler

Heart Blocks for the Penny Sampler

And I made a modification to two block, the Whirl and a plain fabric 6.5″ square block. I decided I wanted the Whirl to turn into a Windmill (the Penny Sampler is a Scandinavian inspired quilt design, and I have seen a few windmills in Denmark). I messed around and around and around with it (was I whirling?) because I tried to combine parts of blocks and since I’m not all that great with applying fundamentals of measurement and cutting to my inspirations, it took a lot of try this, rip-it-out, try that, rip-that-out, until finally I got close to what I had imagined. I added some sketch stitching hoping it would connect the blades to the base of the windmill, but I’m not sure it worked. We’ll see.

The Windmill Block is a set of 2 blocks, the Whirl block and a (not so) plain 6.5" square.

The Windmill Block is a set of 2 blocks, the Whirl block and a (not so) plain 6.5″ square.

If you would like to see some completed Penny Sampler Quilts on Flickr, click here.  This is my Favorites on Flickr; you’ll have to scroll down bit, but you might enjoy seeing all the pretties.

That’s all for this week; high hopes for next week!

~ Janie at Isabella’s Whimsy

12 responses to “30/30 Challenge, March 14, End of Week 2 (aka End of 14 days…or maybe 13)

  1. Wow, you’re on a roll! You got so much done – you must be so happy to have been so productive : ) I love the hanging diamonds block and you win the most-creative-use-for-shish-kabob-skewers award this week!

  2. sherry says:

    wow you got lots done this past week…well done

  3. Congratulations on all your progress, Janie! Love the broken herringbone block wall hanging you made! Keep up the great work!

  4. MaryR says:

    Great progress! The citrus wall hanging is really cute and cheerful and the quick corners for hanging is really smart.

  5. Mara says:

    Love your herringbone wall hanging.

  6. Shauna says:

    You got a lot done, I love the horse block and that herringbone is wonderfully cheerful.

  7. Jessica says:

    I love your horse and flower blocks. They are so dear. You’ve done a lot of work this week and everything looks great. Way to go!! 🙂

  8. billiemick says:

    You have definitely been busy! Lots of great projects.

  9. Lovin all the progress you’ve made!

  10. CeLynn says:

    Your herringbone mini has a wonderful pop of color! Congratulations on all of your block progress this past week,and good luck in the coming week 🙂

  11. Andree says:

    Hi Janie, congrats on being so productive!

  12. lori says:

    Lots of work done,,,good job…baby is too cute…..

Leave a Reply

