Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Cowboy Quilt Continues

on June 4, 2013

Early in spring I started this cowboy quilt but decided to put it aside until I could learn a few things about Free Motion Quilting (FMQ).

So, today after spraying water on the water soluble quilt marking pen lines and waiting for the Bethlehem Star to dry out, I picked up the Cowboy and made some stitches.

The cowboy is bewildered as to how to begin getting these broncos ready to ride.

The cowboy is bewildered as to how to begin getting these broncos ready to ride.

I started with stitch-in-the-ditch around the center bottom block called Grass and Water

Grass and Water block

Grass and Water block

You can see I added Xs in each of the grass squares

Just an X

Just an X

Then I free motioned a spiral in each of the water squares

Spiral in, Spiral out

Spiral in, Spiral out

kind of funny, I think, but funny is good!

What you haven’t seen is the back…

Nest and loops and loose tension...oh my!

Nest and loops and loose tension…oh my!

Let’s just say, I am going to continue learning!

~Happily yours, Isabella

Leave a Reply

