Isabella's Whimsy

handmade with love

Kylie Bowers Art inspires me

on March 30, 2013

 

I follow the up-and-coming artist Kylie Bowers on her blog, Kylie Bowers Art.  She has committed to 200+ days of studies and has just completed Day 4.  In the spirit of showing her studies, I think maybe I will try to imitate her and show my quilting-learning attempts…but I’m far too undisciplined to a daily schedule.

So, here is my 1st go at the quilt block called Flying Geese.  In this placemat the two panels of Flying Geese consists of 4 blocks each because 1 block equals 2 geese as a unit.

 

First time to make Flying Geese quilt blocks, side panels.

First time to make Flying Geese quilt blocks, side panels.

Here is another pic that shows the color more realistically:

Flying Geese best color

Maybe it’s just wonky enough to work.

3 responses to “Kylie Bowers Art inspires me

  1. kyliebowers says:

    Ahhh, Janie, I’m so pleased that I inspired you! Only good can come of all this practicing 🙂 Love your quilt block. Maybe you should set yourself a weekly challenge or something? 2 or 3 a week? What I’m looking forward to most is being able to track my progress 🙂 Good luck.

Leave a Reply

